Wednesday, November 14, 2007

Kraft Products

I was pretty impressed with this two-page article on Kraft's website explaining how to make gluten-free food choices. It explained a lot about how Kraft labels its products. This labeling thing is confusing to me because I don't believe it is required to list gluten or all of the gluten-conatining grains, just wheat on food labels. So I was happy to see that they claim to:


If a Kraft product contains gluten, a source of gluten will be listed in the ingredient statement, no matter how small the amount. For labeling purposes,we include wheat, barley, rye and oats as sources of gluten.



To help you make appropriate food selections, ingredient statements of Kraft,Oscar Mayer and Nabisco products clearly identify any product that contains a source of gluten.



I probably should not confess this, but the reason I was checking was that I wanted to know if my Kraft marshmallows are gluten-free or not. Looks like they are!!!


2 comments:

WaterBased said...

Hi, I am wondering the same thing. So did you find out whether the Jet Puffed Marshmallow is gluten free or not?

Tamara said...

When I checked, which was a while ago, they were GF.