It is amazing how much work it takes! I went through my standard recipes and picked a couple that were already gluten-free or seemed like they would be close to make this week. But then starts the job of working through each ingredient to make sure they don't contain any suspect ingredients.
I know things are supposed to be labeled if they contain wheat, but I don't think there is a requirement for gluten to be listed from another source.
Today I wanted to use Swansons Natural Goodness Chicken Broth. I looked up dextrose and autolyzed yeast extract (the two unknowns I noticed on the label) and if this site on the internet is correct,they should both be gluten-free. So I went ahead and made dinner and it is cooking in the oven now.
But now as I look back through the ingredients on the broth, I see "flavorings" and I have no idea what that is either or if I should be concerned for that or not. Aggh!
Update: I called the manufacturer (campbells) and gave them the barcode # and was told that the broth is GF. Yeah!