Saturday, June 7, 2008

Rice Milk Quandries

I like having some sort of milk-substitute around. I don't use much of it but like to have a little something to put on my cereal or granola or to use in place of milk in recipes.

I went to the store today and spent about 15 minutes in the non-dairy milk section looking for something that was also marked gluten-free. Whew! I almost gave up but finally found Pacific brand rice drink that was labeled GF. They had two other brands (at Fred Meyer) but neither was specifically labeled as gluten-free so I did not want to make a mistake.

I guess I could call and find out if they actually are, although I know I have seen Rice Dream labeled as gluten-free before so I wonder what has changed.

I glanced at the other non-dairy milks (besides rice drink) but did not see any other kind that was dairy-free, soy-free and gluten-free either.

1 comment:

Alisa said...

I believe Almond Breeze brand is soy, gluten, and dairy-free. Pacific's almond milk has soy lecithin, but this is not usually a problem for soy allergies.

You might also try hemp milk.

If you ever need dairy-free suggestions, feel free to email me ... alisa@ the website in my link : )